Make a Difference... Teach!

Application Session OPEN for the following areas:

  • CTE
  • DRP
  • Bilingual EC-6

Hear what our teachers are saying about ECP...

An instance of the chromeless player ready for quick publishing.
The Region 13 Educator Certification Program (ECP) provides an opportunity for professionals from many different fields to become teachers through an alternative route to certification in Texas, rather than following the traditional college route. In this rigorous field-based program which integrates theory with practice, teacher-interns make valuable contributions to public schools as they draw upon their diverse past experiences.

Our Program offers:

imagea long and established history of recruiting, training and supporting first year teachers

image evening and weekend classes to accommodate individuals currently employed

image structured and sustained support provided throughout the first year of teaching

imagetraining by nationally recognized program and highly recruited staff

image excellence in training teachers as recognized by the US Department of Education in their booklet "Innovations in Education: Alternative Routes to Teacher Certification"

News & Upcoming Events

Programs Accepting Applications:
Austin ISD Teacher Academy (ATA)
Career & Technical Education (CTE)
District Referral Program (DRP)
General Education Program (GEN)
Language Leaders Program (TTT)


Information Sessions:
(all sessions 6 to 8 pm
, held at ESC Region 13, 5701 Springdale Rd, Austin, TX 78723)
Directions to Region 13
April 24 - Thursday (CTE only)
May 22 -Thursday (CTE only)
June 12 - Thursday (CTE only)
Can't attend?

View Recorded Information Sessions for: Bilingual

(PACT) TExES Pre-Admission Content Test Now Available:


ECP Teachers Recognized: Congratulations to the ECP interns selected as Austin ISD "Teachers of Promise"! for 2012-13:

Elizabeth Albee, Eric Crawford, Leticia Garza, Elvia Green, Shanna Hamilton, Priscilla Jenkins, Desirae Johnson, Saray Maldonado, Dara Marshall, Johnathan Nelson, Lorraine Page, Jeremy Myers, Evelyn Ramirez, Lourdes Rodriguez, Laura Schwartz, Enrique Trevino, and Isadora Vail.