Application Cycle:

  • Early Admission Cycle
    Start Date: Jun 17, 2019
    Deadline: Sep 13, 2019

  • Mid Admission Cycle
    Start Date: Sep 14, 2019
    Deadline: Oct 18, 2019

  • Final Admission Cycle
    Start Date: Oct 19, 2019
    Deadline: Nov 26, 2019

Information Sessions:

  • Jul 23, 2019 (6 to 8 PM)

Learn more about information sessions.

Certification Areas:

These areas below are the requirements for the Limited Admission Cycle which is an accelerated 12 month teacher preparation and certification program. 

Elementary Level Certification Requirements (Grades EC-6)
Bilingual Core Subjects Spanish EC-6
Bilingual Core Subjects Spanish EC-6 / Special Education EC-12 Dual Certification
ESL Core Subjects EC-6
Middle Level Certification Requirements (Grades 4-8)
English Language Arts & Reading 4-8
English Language Arts & Reading/Social Studies 4-8
Mathematics 4-8
Mathematics/Science 4-8
Science 4-8 
Social Studies 4-8
Secondary Level Certification Requirements (Grades 6-12)
English Language Arts & Reading 7-12
Mathematics 7-12
Math/Physics 7-12
Math/Physical Science/Engineering 6-12
Physical Science 6-12
Science 7-12 
Social Studies 7-12
All Level Certification Requirements (Grades EC-12)
American Sign Language (ASL) EC-12
Art EC-12
Languages Other Than English (LOTE) French EC-12
Languages Other Than English (LOTE) German EC-12 
Languages Other Than English (LOTE) Latin EC-12
Languages Other Than English (LOTE) Spanish EC-12 
Music EC-12
Physical Education EC-12
Special Education EC-12
Theatre Arts EC-12

  Critical Needs Areas *

The critical needs areas are certification areas in which there is an anticipated shortage of teachers. These areas are identified each spring or summer by the Commissioner of Education for the upcoming school year. As a result, these areas are subject to change.  Areas listed as “critical needs” on our website are anticipated for the application cycle. For a complete and updated list visit TEA Teacher Shortage Areas 2018-2019.

Note: Program requirements are subject to change at any time based upon new rules, policies and regulations from the Texas Education Agency: Educator Certification.